Kata Tjuta (Olgas)

Approximately 40 kms from Uluru are the Olgas now renamed back to the indigenous name Kata Tjuta.


Kata Tjuta (otherwise known as the Olgas) is set within the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. They are a group of large domed rock formations located about 365 kilometres southwest of Alice Springs, in the southern part of the Northern Territory, central Australia. The name has been aptly given to the Olgas as Kata Tjuta actually means ‘many heads’ in traditional Aboriginal language. The alternative name, The Olgas, comes from the tallest peak, Mt. Olga. At the behest of Baron Ferdinand von Mueller, Mt. Olga was named in 1872 by Ernest Giles, in honour of Queen Olga of Wurttemberg. The Kata Tjuta you see today are the remains of erosion that began around 500 million years ago. The formations are visible tips of enormous slabs of rock that extend as far as six kilometres into the ground. Archaeological work suggests that Aboriginal people have lived in the area for at least 22,000 years.

Kata Tjuta (Olgas)

 Tata Kuja olgas


Kata Tuja mens business


Mohandas Gandhi

“The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.”